Tuskers are the champions of CCL 6

Tuskers United has claimed the champion title of CCL 6 by defeating Stormers by 31 runs in the 3rd final of CCL 6. After Stormers and Tuskers won one match each in the first two finals, the third final became the decider. However the match was a one-sided affair and the win for Tuskers a facile one as Stormers was not able to raise its game befitting a final.

In the most crucial match of CCL 6, Stormers won the toss and elected to field first. Tuskers United started with Saravanan and Ajeesh, while Stormers began their attack with Renjith Kumar. The first few overs from Stormers were very tight and the Tuskers didn’t make a lot of runs in them but held their wickets intact. Though Saravanan was out in the 4th over, Ajeesh partnered with Abhin and started building the innings. Their good work, which included an assortment of ones and twos, helped Tuskers to make steady progress in their score. However it was the 8th over that turned the tide in favour of the Tuskers. Ajeesh, who has been the player to watch out for in the tournament, came to his best and floored the Stormers’ attack with his power hitting. En route his brilliant innings Ajeesh scored his second fifty of the tournament. At the fag end of the innings, Abhin also came to his excellent self and hit some big hits to take the final score of Tuskers United to a mammoth 107 for the loss of 3 wickets. Ajeesh remained unbeaten on 65.

Chasing a target of 108 on a big final could be an uphill task and achieving it could be highly improbable, though not impossible. For reaching the target, however you would need to maintain a good run rate all through the innings, from the start. The momentum was surely with the Tuskers and to usurp that momentum Stormers needed to go big from the first over itself. But it didn’t happen and the much important momentum remained with the Tuskers all through the innings of Stormers. There was no real counter attack from the Stormers’ batsmen and they seemed to have resigned to their fate. The team kept on losing wickets and big hitting was nowhere to be seen save a very few occasions. Captain Ranjith E fought a lone battle but didn’t get a lot of support from the other end. In the final over of the innings Vijai saved the grace for the Stormers with some mighty hitting and their innings ended for a paltry 76 runs.

Ajeesh was declared Man of the Match.

Calpine Group CEO, Jijo G. John gave away the trophy to the champions.




Similar Posts

Leave a Reply